IPL 2016: Delhi Daredevils beat Mumbai Indians by 10 runs


He feels his run out proved costly for the title holders’ as at one stage Mumbai Indians were coasting along when he was batting in the company of skipper Rohit Sharma. Rayudu, who was dropped by JP Duminy in the fifth over – a half-chance at slip, smacked four boundaries for his 25 before he was clean bowled by legspinner Amit Mishra in the ninth over. Rayudu’s dismissal saw the promotion of Krunal Pandya in the batting order for Mumbai. Samson offered to change that, in the 12th over, with a back-to-back six and four off Harbhajan. While Pandya was busy smashing the Delhi bowlers to all around the park, Rohit looked happy in rotating the strike and anchor the chase for Mumbai. The two had added 41 runs and the defending champions required 62 runs from 45 balls.

Jos Buttler could not get Chris Morris away and Mishra trapped the England wicketkeeper with another googly.

His leg-spinning partner Imran Tahir, though, was less threatening but still managed to keep the batsmen quiet from the other end. Bowling: Z Khan 4-0-30-1, Mohammed Shami 3-0-24-0, P Negi 1-0-19-0, CH Morris 4-0-27-1, A Mishra 4-0-24-2, Imran Tahir 4-0-29-0.

Besides, De Kock, young Karun Nair also played a pivotal role with an unbeaten 54 off 42 balls and come tomorrow the duo would hope to carry on their good form against the Mumbai Indians.

In a final over in which Mumbai were left needing 21 to win, Rohit was run out after hitting a six as his side were unable to get home. Just 23 runs were conceded in the last four overs in Bengaluru.

For Delhi Daredevils, South African batsman Quinton de Kock has been the highest scorer, accounting for 184 runs, including a century in the last game.

5 – Number of fifties Sanju Samson has scored in IPL.

“Exceptional death bowling and execution of plans helped us win”. The confidence was at the peaks after gaining the victory against Kings XI Punjab and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Purple cap to Mitchell McClenaghan: The New Zealander claimed another two wickets which earned him the purple cap for going at the top of the table of most wickets with nine scalps from six matches. To open the innings, Rohit Sharma was promoted and Ambati Raudu’s newly moved 3rd position has given the batting a settled look. Rohit and Krunal then took Mumbai to 78/2 after ten overs.

Delhi’s scoring rate meandered along at a run-a-ball rate, devoid of any momentum and power hitting.

Currently India’s best leg-spinner Amit Mishra has time and again risen upto the occasion and will be leading Daredevils spin department in company of Pawan Negi. His innings included three fours and two sixes. Gautam Gambhir and David Warner are the other two batsmen to have achieved the feat.

5 – Number of fifties Sanju Samson has scored vs Mumbai Indians in Twenty20 format.

After 40 overs at the Feroz Shah Kotla on Saturday, the superstitious could be forgiven for thinking that the number “3” had decided it wanted to side with Delhi Daredevils.


The author donaldhamm

Leave a Response